Intelligent, Informed, Independent and (occasionally) Irreverent

Piazzolla
Australian Chamber Orchestra
2022 Season
Images of Spain
Australian Chamber Orchestra
Classical & Jazz
Richard Tognetti
Musician
Australian Chamber Orchestra
Mozart & Britten
Australian Chamber Orchestra
2022 Season

Skip Navigation LinksHome > Australia > Classical Music > Australian Chamber Orchestra

The White Hat Guide to the

Australian Chamber Orchestra

Australian Chamber Orchestra

Website: ACO

Australian Chamber Orchestra

Australian Chamber Orchestra

(ACO)


Our rating - 5 Hats

Hat Hat Hat Hat Hat

Some forthcoming performances by the Australian Chamber Orchestra:

Australian Chamber Orchestra - Piazzolla

Violinist from Australian Chamber Orchestra

To open their 2022 season, the Australian Chamber Orchestra with Richard Tognetti (Director & Violin), James Crabb (Classical Accordion) perform:

White Hat can thoroughly recommend this concert.

Sydney - City Recital Hall; Tue 1 Feb 8pm, Wed 2 Feb 7pm, Fri 11 Feb 1.30pm, Sat 12 Feb 7pm, Sun 13 Feb 2pm
Canberra - Llewellyn Hall; Fri 4 Feb 8pm
Melbourne - Melbourne Recital Centre; Sat 5 Feb 7.30pm, Mon 7 Feb 7.30pm
Melbourne - Arts Centre Melbourne; Sun 6 Feb 2.30pm
Adelaide - Adelaide Town Hall; Tue 8 Feb 7.30pm
Brisbane - QPAC Concert Hall; Mon 14 Feb 7pm
Relaxed Performance - Sydney - Pier 2/3, The Neilson; Fri 26 Aug 1pm

Pricing and online ticket sales available on Australian Chamber Orchestra website

Our rating - 5 Hats

Hat Hat Hat Hat Hat


___________________  White Hat  ___________________

Australian Chamber Orchestra - Images of Spain

Cellist from Australian Chamber Orchestra

The Australian Chamber Orchestra continue their long established tradition of imaginative programming of fine music. White Hat suspects that this program will gain  some new followers of classical music from amongst jazz fans, and also some new appreciation of fine jazz, and also some new appreciation of fine jazz from amongst classical music followers.

During the Middle Ages, Spain became a melting pot of cultures with the locals being influenced the musical instruments and idions of the Sephardic Jews and the Moors. The resulting and evolving Spanish musical styles had an enduring ‘exotic’ appeal for other European composers who often paid it homage. It was also to cross-fertilize with further idioms with the spread of the Spanish and Portuguese Empires. Not surprisingly its influence is also to be heard in certain jazz and popular music.

Richard Tognetti leads the ACO for this musical exploration, and they are joined by a jazz quartet, featuring pianist Matt McMahon and trumpeter Phil Slater.

  • Debussy Images pour orchestre: 2. Ibéria: I. Par les rues et les chemins
  • Boccherini String Quintet in C major, G.324 “Night music of the streets of Madrid”: Selections
  • Ravel (arr. Tognetti) Violin Sonata No.2: II. Blues. Moderato
  • Bizet (arr. Shchedrin) Carmen Suite: Selections
  • Traditional Sephardic music, incl. Yo era niña de casa alta
  • Miles Davis Sketches of Spain: Solea
  • Chick Corea Spain

Newcastle - Newcastle City Hall - Thu 31 Mar 7.30pm
Canberra - Llewellyn Hall - Sat 2 Apr 8pm
Melbourne - Arts Centre Melbourne - Sun 3 Apr 2.30pm; Mon 4 Apr 7.30pm
Sydney - City Recital Hall - Tue 5 Apr 8pm; Wed 6 Apr 7pm; Fri 8 Apr 1.30pm; Sat 9 Apr 7pm; Sun 10 Apr 2pm
Brisbane - QPAC Concert Hall - Mon 11 Apr 7pm
Wollongong - Wollongong Town Hall - Wed 13 Apr 7.30pm

Pricing and online ticket sales available on Australian Chamber Orchestra website



___________________  White Hat  ___________________

Australian Chamber Orchestra - Mozart & Britten

Cellist from Australian Chamber Orchestra

The Australian Chamber Orchestra with Richard Tognetti (director & violin) and Stefanie Farrands (viola) perform a program of works by Mozart and Britten.

Benjamin Britten and Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart bothe began composing at an early age, and this concert presents one work from each of them composed at the age of 16. It also has one work from each composer's maturity. White Hat confidently expects that both the youthful and mature works will receive the highly polished and professional performances we have grown to expt from the ACO.

Sydney - City Recital Hall - Sat 7 May 7pm; Sun 8 May 2pm; Tue 10 May 8pm; Wed 11 May 7pm
Wollongong - Wollongong Town Hall - Thu 12 May 7.30pm
Canberra - Llewellyn Hall - Sat 14 May 8pm
Melbourne - Arts Centre Melbourne - Sun 15 May 2.30pm
Melbourne - Melbourne Recital Centre - Mon 16 May 7.30pm; Sat 21 May 7.30pm
Adelaide  - Adelaide Town Hall - Tue 17 May 7.30pm
Perth - Perth Concert Hall - Wed 18 May 7.30pm
Brisbane - QPAC Concert Hall - Mon 23 May 7pm
Sydney - Pier 2/3, The Neilson - Fri 10 Jun 1pm - Relaxed Performance

Pricing and online ticket sales available on Australian Chamber Orchestra website



___________________  White Hat  ___________________

Australian Chamber Orchestra - Bach

Cellist from Australian Chamber Orchestra

When it comes to dynasties of musicians and composers, the Bach family is one of the most remarkable, crowned of course by the mighty Johann Sebastian. However, his forebears were more than competent at their trade as this concert demonstrates, while his two most prominent sons - Carl Phillip Emanuel and Johann Christian - explored new paths towards the ‘storm and stress’ style and Haydn and the rococo style and Mozart respectively

It was no surprise that when White Hat compiled our list top 100 concertos, J. S. Bach’s Concerto for Two Violins came out as number 1. Not even the best efforts of generations of juvenile violin students have been able to destroy this work. Imagine then how it shines when played by some of Australia's finest - the Australian Chamber Orchestra with Richard Tognetti (Director) and Anna Dowsley (Principal Violin) as violin soloists. Other fine soloists include Anna Dowsley (mezzo-soprano), Helena Rathbone (violin),  Erin Helyard (harpsichord & fortepiano) and Timo-Veikko Valve (cello) in C. P. E. Bach’s virtuoistic Cello Concerto.

  • J. L. Bach Suite in G major: Overture
  • H. Bach Sonata à 5 in F major
  • J. C. Bach Meine Freundin, du bist schön: Ciaconna “Mein Freund is Mein”
  • J. S. Bach Concerto for Two Violins in D minor, BWV1043 (one of White Hat's Top 100 Concerti)
  • J. S. Bach Cantata “Widerstehe doch der Sünde” BWV54: “Widerstehe doch der Sünde”
  • J. S. Bach Cantata “Ich habe genug”, BWV82: “Schlummert ein, ihr matten Augen”
  • Mozart (after J. C. Bach) Piano Concerto No.12 in A major, K.414: II. Andante
  • J. C. F. Bach Sinfonia in D minor: I. Allegro
  • J. C. F. Bach Die Amerikanerin: “Mein Herz fleucht ihr entgegen”
  • C. P. E. Bach Cello Concerto in A major, Wq.172

Melbourne - Melbourne Recital Centre - Sat 18 Jun 7.30pm; Mon 20 Jun 7.30pm
MelbourneArts Centre Melbourne - Sun 19 Jun 2.30pm
Adelaide - Adelaide Town Hall - Tue 21 Jun 7.30pm
Perth - Perth Concert Hall - Wed 22 Jun 7.30pm
Sydney - City Recital Hall - Sat 25 Jun 7pm; Sun 26 Jun 2pm; Tue 28 Jun 8pm; Wed 29 Jun 7pm
Canberra - Llewellyn Hall - Mon 27 Jun 8pm
Sydney - Pier 2/3, The Neilson - Fri 29 Jul 1pm - Relaxed Performance

Pricing and online ticket sales available on Australian Chamber Orchestra website



___________________  White Hat  ___________________
Top