Intelligent, Informed, Independent and (occasionally) Irreverent

Arvo Pärt & JS Bach
Estonian Choir
ACO
Beethoven
Symphony No. 5
Violin Concerto
Australian Chamber Orchestra
Bethoven & Prokofiev
Lorenza Borrani
Australian Chamber Orchestra
Sonatas for Strings
Melbourne Recital Centre

Skip Navigation LinksHome > Australia > Classical Music > Australian Chamber Orchestra

The White Hat Guide to the

Australian Chamber Orchestra

Australian Chamber Orchestra

Website: ACO

Australian Chamber Orchestra

Australian Chamber Orchestra

(ACO)


Our rating - 5 Hats

Hat Hat Hat Hat Hat

Some forthcoming performances by the Australian Chamber Orchestra:

Tognetti's Beethoven

Richard Tognetti has been  chosen by White Hat as one of our 100 Important Living Australians. To find out why, we suggest you make your way to this concert.

For this performance of Beethoven's Fifth, the ACO will expand its forces, and also showcase another outstanding signature work, Beethoven’s mighty Violin Concerto. 

It has been some 25 years since Richard Tognetti gave his first performance of the Beethoven Violin Concerto with the ACO back in 1993, and he last performed it with the Orchestra 11 years ago.

7.30pm, Thu 8 November 2018 - Newcastle City Hall
8pm, Sat 10 November 2018 - Canberra, Llewellyn Hall
2.30pm, Sun 11 November 2018 - Melbourne, Arts Centre – Hamer Hall
7.30pm, Mon 12 November 2018 - Melbourne, Arts Centre – Hamer Hall
7.30pm, Tue 13 November 2018 - Adelaide Town Hall
7.30pm, Wed 14 November 2018 - Perth Concert Hall
7pm, Sat 17 November 2018 - Sydney, City Recital Hall
2pm,Sun 18 November 2018 - Sydney Opera House Concert Hall
7pm, Mon 19 November 2018 - Brisbane, QPAC Concert Hall
8pm, Tue 20 November 2018 - Sydney, City Recital Hall
7pm, Wed 21 November 2018 - Sydney, City Recital Hall



___________________  White Hat  ___________________

Sonatas for Strings

Australian Chamber Orchestra

The Australian Chamber Orchestra with Richard Tognetti (director and violin) perform:

This program unites a collection of pieces that forego an explanatory narrative in return for a rich vein of timeless beauty.

William Walton’s Sonata for Strings is a seemingly effortless interweaving of parts, while fellow Brit, Sir Edward Elgar’s Serenade for Strings holds a special place in the heart of the ACO and it remains a favourite for musicians and audiences alike. 

Peter Sculthorpe’s first Sonata for Strings, Ravel’s Two Hebrew Melodies and Debussy’s The Girl with the Flaxen Hair and The Interrupted Serenade complete this offering of music for string orchestra



___________________  White Hat  ___________________

Arvo Pärt & JS Bach

Estonian Philharmonic Chamber Choir

 The Estonian Philharmonic Chamber Choir with the  Australian Chamber Orchestra (Richard Tognetti director) perform:

White Hat strongly recommends that anyone interested in choral music (or classical music in general) should go out of their way to hear this excellent programme. The world-renowned Estonian Philharmonic Chamber Choir together with the  Australian Chamber Orchestra alternate the mystical minimalism of the Estonian composer Arvo Pärt with the intricate and muscular polyphony of Bach's motets. Combing these two world's is Pärt's Toccata for strings from his Collage on B-A-C-H. The programme is rounded up with an offering form contemporary Estonian composer Galina Grigorjeva and Australian composer Peter Sculthorpe's Djilile, inspired by Indigenous song.

Our rating - 5 Hats

Hat Hat Hat Hat Hat

Sydney – City Recital Hall Saturday 2 February 7pm
Sydney Opera House Sunday 3 February 2pm
Sydney – City Recital Halll Tuesday 5 February 8pm
Sydney – City Recital Hall Wednesday 6 February 7pm
Canberra – Llewellyn Hall Saturday 9 February 8pm
Melbourne – Arts Centre Melbourne Sunday 10 February 2:30pm
Melbourne – Arts Centre Melbourne Monday 11 February 7:30pm
Adelaide Town Hall Tuesday 12 February 7:30pm
Perth Concert Hall Wednesday 13 February 7:30pm



___________________  White Hat  ___________________

Beethoven & Prokofiev

Australian Chamber Orchestra

The Australian Chamber Orchestra with Lorenza Borrani (director & violin) perform:

Over the years, White Hat has found that the Australian Chamber Orchestra has consistently brought us some of the most thoughtfully constructed and thought-provoking concerts on the Australian scene. This concert is no exception.

Beethoven's late string quartets strain to break the limitations of their limited forces and gain a useful new perspective when occasionally heard in arrangement for string orchestra. Similarly Prokofiev's Violin Sonata No.1 provides different insights when the piano is replaced by string orchestra. As an interlude between these powerful works, Bulgarian-British composer Dobrinka Tabakova’s Such Different Paths offers a radiant interlude evoking life’s journey.

Fiery and charismatic Italian violinist Lorenza Borrani, who delighted audiences on her last tour here in 2016, returns to lead this program of emotionally rich music.

Newcastle City Hall Thursday 7 March 7:30pm
Canberra – Llewellyn Hall Saturday 9 March 8pm
Brisbane – QPAC Concert Hall Monday 11 March 7pm
Sydney – City Recital Hall Tuesday 12 March 8pm
Sydney – City Recital Hall Wednesday 13 March 7pm
Sydney – City Recital Hall Friday 15 March 1:30pm
Sydney – City Recital Hall Saturday 16 March 7pm
Melbourne – Arts Centre Melbourne Sunday 17 March 2:30pm
Melbourne – Arts Centre Melbourne Monday 18 March 7:30pm
Adelaide Town Hall Tuesday 19 March 7:30pm



___________________  White Hat  ___________________
Top