Subscribe to our FREE Newsletter 'Classical Music in Australia'



Dmitri Shostakovich

Some forthcoming Australian concerts and performances featuring the music of Shostakovich:

Australian Chamber Orchestra - Tabula Rasa
Cellists and violinist from ACO

After a season disupted by the virus in 2020, the Australian Chamber Orchestra has crafted a program to open their 2021  season that encourages both reflection on the past and looking to the future with joy and creativity

“This tiny coronvirus has showed us in a painful way that humanity is a single organism…No-one knows how we will come out of this but we all know that nothing will remain the same.” - Arvo Pärt

Estonian Arvo Pärt is one of the most performed and influential living composers. Written while Estonia was under Soviet-control, his Tabula Rasa - Latin for a clean slate - seeks spirituality and independence.

As with Tabula Rasa, Wojciech Kilar’s Orawa, written during Poland’s long confinement behind the Iron Curtain, expresses the beauty of freedom and the natural world, while Shostakovich’s Chamber Symphony in C minor is a lament for victims of fascism and war, but also an act of self-reflection. Moving through elegy and brutal force into acceptance and farewell, it reminds us once more that creativity, art and music do prevail.

  • Kilar Orawa
  • Arvo Pärt Tabula Rasa
  • Prokofiev - Sonata for Solo Violin in D major, Op.115
  • Thomas Adés Shanty (World Premiere)
  • Shostakovich (arr.Barshai) - Chamber Symphony in C minor, Op.110a

Australian Chamber Orchestra with Richard Tognetti AO (Director & violin) and Satu Vänskä (Principal Violin).

Sydney - City Recital Hall; 7pm 10th, 1.30pm 12th, 7pm 13th, 2pm 14th, 8pm 9th February 2021
Wollongong - Wollongong Town Hall; 7.30pm 8th February 2021

___________________  White Hat  ___________________

Selected Sheet Music by Shostakovich

24 Preludes and Fugues for Piano, Op. 87 look inside 24 Preludes and Fugues for Piano, Op. 87 By Dmitri Shostakovich (1906-1975). For Piano (Piano). DSCH. 20th Century. SMP Level 10 (Advanced). Collection. Standard notation (does not include words to the songs). 173 pages. Published by DSCH (HL.50484225)

Smp_stars40 (16) ...more info

Trio in E minor, Opus 67 look inside Trio in E minor, Opus 67 By Dmitri Shostakovich (1906-1975). Edited by Robert Taub. For violin, cello and piano. 20th Century. Difficulty: difficult. Performance parts. Standard notation and piano accompaniment. Composed 1944. 66 pages. Published by International Music Company (IM.2086)

Smp_stars50 (4) ...more info

Cover tiny file look inside String Quartet No. 8, Op. 110 Parts. Composed by Dmitri Shostakovich (1906-1975). DSCH. Set of performance parts. 66 pages. Published by DSCH (HL.50484253).
Cover tiny file look inside String Quartet No. 8, Op. 110 Set of Parts. Composed by Dmitri Shostakovich (1906-1975). String. 20th century. Set of performance parts. 20 pages. Sikorski #SIK2140. Published by Sikorski (HL.50156220).